HOPE2HEAL

I want to share about a very exciting ministry with you today.  My brother, James Crum, has started this ministry with his family as a branch of his overall ministry.  I want to share how the ministry idea started.

HOPE2HEAL comes out of an experience we had when our mom was in the hospital.  As most of you know, she had been diagnosed with a glioblastoma in January 2017.  The first step we took was surgery to remove the tumor.  Mike had taken a break from sitting with mom, and James and I were there with her in ICU after surgery when we heard a knock on the door. We weren’t sure who it was at first, so I went to the door.  When I got there, I recognized one of my friends from high school.  Now high school was a LONG time ago! And to be honest, I didn’t have very many close friends, but this lady was one of the ones I counted as a true friend.  She told me she just wanted to stop by and give me a little something and let me know she was praying for my mom, me, and my entire family.  She hugged me, and I cried!  She didn’t stay.  She just wanted us to know she was thinking about us.  I returned to the room and explained to James who it was, and we looked in the bag.  We found pens, a notebook, a puzzle book, mints, candy, just little things to use as we sat with mom.

That little gift meant so much!  We used that notebook for the rest of the time we took care of mom!  We had so many notes about doctor’s appointments, lists of things to do, notes to leave for each other as we came and went.  The puzzles helped pass the time.  Candy is always good! That gift though, really impacted my brother.  He knew then that one day he wanted to do something like this.  Our journey with our mom is done, but we are ready to journey with others.

HOPE2HEAL has been started.  They will provide care packs to those who are receiving cancer treatments.  They will have some basic things in them that people need as they go back and forth to treatments like a water bottle, lotion, hand sanitizer, warm socks, etc.  They will also have some scriptures and a personal note in each one.  We are so excited for this ministry!  Even though my brother is heading it up, I plan to be involved in it as well.

If you would like more information, I would encourage you to visit my brother’s website jamescrum.com and click on the HOPE2HEAL tab.  The main way you can support us is prayer.  This is new territory for all of us, and we covet all of your prayers.  If you want to support the ministry financially, you can do so on the website.  We appreciate any and all help.

We are looking forward to good days for HOPE2HEAL as we look forward to God’s healing for those with cancer!

Leave a comment