Made for This

Summer is practically over! Maybe not on the traditional calendar. It is only August 14th. But for many of us, we have either gone back to school or will be starting school this week.  I’ve been in meetings this week and will have 96 students in my middle school classroom in two days!

The last year and a half has been rough for me.  I’m not going to lie.  Some days I’m surprised I made it without just falling in the floor and throwing a temper tantrum or a crying fit.  As many of you know, my mom was diagnosed in January of 2017 with a brain tumor, and she went to heaven in September that year.   Needless to say, grief comes and goes, and dealing with it has been a rollercoaster. Well, last school year was hard. Not just because of losing my mom. The kids were very hard to teach. We had many discipline issues, lots of admin changes, just many things that made it tough.  In fact, last year was so tough, I was really starting to count down to retirement.  I mean I was really thinking about what I wanted to do after my teaching career.  I’m too close to that mark to stop teaching now, but I was looking for the finish line.

I think that’s why God gives teachers summers.  I thought I would get a lot of stuff done this summer, but I didn’t do as much as I thought I would.  I did get a few projects done, but I think I processed more than anything.  You see, when my mom passed in September of 2017, I was at home right before, I stayed and helped clean out the house after the funeral, and then I went right back to work the following week.  I didn’t really have any downtime.  Like I said, grief is a rollercoaster.  Depression is real.  I’m not going to say I’m “over” anything.  However, I do feel like there is light at the end of the tunnel.

I have been getting ready for school this last week and a half.  I’ve been very focused, and as it gets closer, I am getting more excited. And you know why?  I’m made for this career.  This is what I’m called to do.  God called me to teach when I was in college.  As I was listening to the radio, a song came on, and what was it called? “Made for This” by Carrollton.  If you haven’t heard it, you need to go listen. The lyrics are below.  The words just spoke to me!  I am made to teach.  I’m not going to lose because I’m where God has called me.  I have His Power with me every day!  On those days when you’re struggling, remember that if you are where God has put you, you are “made for this!”

So in two days, bring it on! I am looking forward to getting to know my new set of 96 students and seeing what God and I can do together this year!

 

“Made for This” by Carrolton

Verse 1]
I take a breath, I’m not gonna lose
This is what I came here to do
I walk that wire and I take that step
Won’t look down got no regrets
Won’t look down got no regrets

[Chorus]
I was made for this
I was made for this
Born in the wild
Formed in the fire
Built for the battle
I was made for this
I was made for this
Mind over matter
Silence the doubters
I have the power
Oh, I was made for this

 

[Verse 2]
I don’t give up I won’t back down
Goodbye worries no time to doubt
I feel the power, I won’t be afraid
Fear won’t stop me, I don’t break

[Bridge]
I’m a soul on a wire
That’s where I feel alive
Open up the sky
I’m a soul on a wire
That’s where I feel alive
Open up the sky
I am free to fly

Leave a comment